Lambda Theta Alpha Concludes 2017 Annual Leadership Summit and National Convention

July 10, 2017

Lambda Theta Alpha Concludes 2017 Annual Leadership Summit and National Convention

Anaheim, CA – Nearly 700 sisters of Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Inc. convened at the Hilton Anaheim Hotel July 6-9 for its annual Leadership Summit and National Convention. The four days included sisterhood bonding, educational and motivational seminars, and celebrations that highlighted the sorority’s accomplishments.

The sorority’s leadership team arrived on Thursday ahead of the general membership to receive training, network and collaborate on plans for the upcoming sorority year. The National Convention officially kicked off on Friday afternoon with a collection drive. Members donated over 500 children’s books and $1,000 in gift cards for local organizations which included Casa Teresa, Precious Lamb Preschool and the Youth Policy Institute.

This year’s theme, “The Magic of Sisterhood” was truly felt when sisters took over Disneyland on Friday evening. Founding Mothers to our newest members enjoyed the park’s rides and the opportunity to bond with sisters from across the nation.

On Saturday, members arose early for a Herstory session led by Founding Mothers and Line One, followed by a range of workshops on topics, such as leadership, philanthropy, politics, finance, gender identity and relationships. Keynote speaker, Dr. Yasmin Davidds, CEO of Latina Global Executive Leadership Institute, moved the audience during lunch with her inspiring story on how she overcame obstacles and provided advice for others to take ownership of their own stories.

Courtney Leffew of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital joined members for Sunday’s awards ceremony where she highlighted the sorority’s commitment to its national philanthropy and to ending childhood cancer. The sorority announced its 2016-17 fundraising efforts culminated in $68,924 in contributions to the hospital, bringing total donations to nearly $350,000 since the partnership began in 2010.

The awards ceremony proceeded to recognize overachieving chapters and sisters who have exceeded all expectations through scholarship, service, political activism and sisterhood. The recipients of the 2017 National Awards were:

Philanthropic Sister of the Year
Jennifer Fuentes
Alpha Upsilon Alumnae Chapter

Political Activist Sister of the Year
Ashley Sharp
Upsilon Chapter

Undergraduate Sister of the Year
Brittany Rich
Zeta Epsilon Chapter

New Sister of the Year
Mighely Morales
Zeta Delta Chapter

Alumna Sister of the Year
Liz Sánchez
Alpha Eta Alumnae Chapter

Campus Leader of the Year
Nicole Dinescu
Alpha Upsilon Alumnae Chapter

Rising Professional of the Year
Marissa Montalvo
Upsilon Chapter

Professional of the Year
Helena Hobbs
Epsilon Lambda Chapter

Lourdes Cortes Scholarship for Academic Excellence
Grecia Quiroga
Beta Omicron Chapter

Universal Mother Award
Leslie Shaw
Alpha Rho Alumnae Chapter

Alumna Entrepreneur Award
Brenda Medina
Eta Chapter

Principles Award
Valeria Silva
Zeta Gamma Chapter

Philanthropic Chapter of the Year
Epsilon Omicron Chapter
Binghamton University

Political Activist Chapter of the Year
Zeta Epsilon Chapter
Syracuse University

Undergraduate Chapter of the Year
Gamma Psi Chapter
San Diego State University

New Chapter of the Year
Zeta Sigma Chapter
Washington State University

Alumnae Chapter of the Year
Alpha Rho Alumnae Chapter
Raleigh, NC

Area of the Year
Maryland Area One

Outstanding Service to St. Jude Award
Alpha Beta Alumnae Chapter
Hartford, CT

Greek Advisor of the Year Award
Troy Bartels
California State University, Dominguez Hills

To conclude, the Board of Directors praised the 2016-2017 Leadership Team for their hard work through the year and welcomed the incoming 2017-2018 leadership at all levels. The incoming national officers to the Board of Directors include:

Vice President of Internal Affairs
Elisa Oliver, Florida alumna

Vice President of Finance
Michelle Grossman, Tennessee alumna

Director of Risk Management
Alexis Richbourg, Georgia alumna

Director of Alumnae Affairs
Lisandra Sanchez, Pennsylvania alumna

Director of Recruitment and Retention
Wendy Castro, California alumna

The Board of Directors thank all who helped make this event a success, including the Convention Committee, photographer, speakers, sponsors, volunteers and the Hilton Anaheim Hotel. We look forward to our 2018 National Convention, which will be held in Miami, FL!


About Lambda Theta Alpha Lambda Theta Alpha was founded at Kean University in 1975 as the first Latina sorority in the nation. Lambda Theta Alpha strives to develop strong leaders that produce and engage in political, social, and cultural activities. Based on the principles of Unity, Love and Respect, the Sorority was established for the unification of women through charitable and educational programs. Although Lambda Theta Alpha is Latin by tradition, the Sorority is inclusive to all women regardless of race, color, creed, sexual identity, gender expression, or religious beliefs.